Great Advice for Every Writer on How to Get Published

The Adventurous Writer is a link I’ve included on the Romantic Shorts sites because Quips and Tips founder Laurie Pawlik-Kienlin, always has useful, straightforward information for her readers. Not all of her visitors are writers; Laurie posts Quips and Tips on a variety of subjects. Her site is worth a look.
Her post about why freelance writers can’t get much farther than a query to the editor applies to every writer out there – just substitute magazine for book, screenplay, newspaper, or whatever else you’re working on, and follow her tips. And while her explanations can be worth a chuckle or two, it’s a safe bet that behind the humour lies a frustrated editor who wonders why these mistakes are still being made.


Visit her site and check out this post.
It could be the most productive 5 minutes you spend today…

5 Comments

Filed under For Writers, Writing and Getting Published 101

5 responses to “Great Advice for Every Writer on How to Get Published

  1. Thank you for highlighting my blog post here – you made my day! If writers want to get the inside scoop on how to win editors over, they need to work as an editor for a couple of months. That’s what I’m doing (well, it’ll be more than a couple of months), and it’s changed my perspective of writing as a career.

    All good things,
    Laurie

  2. I’m sorry — I have to say that the blue background with gray font makes it really, really hard to read your site. I don’t mean to be critical or offend you, but the truth is that I’m reluctant to tweet or link to your site because it’s so hard to read!

    Just some unrequested feedback 🙂

    • LOL – I’m in the middle of changing that right now. I hate it too!
      Seems I’m not liking anything I’m trying today. Actually, didn’t like anything I tried yesterday, either.
      (Sign on my wall says, “Perfection is our goal. Excellence will be tolerated.” It’s a huge burden I carry.
      I’ll get it right – sooner than later, I hope.
      Thanks for the comments – I love your site!

  3. Alex,
    Love the changes you made! Your site is easy on the eye, which will help us readers stick and keep coming back 🙂
    The sign on my wall says, “Excellence is my goal. Completion will be tolerated.” 🙂
    Just kidding — my sign actually says, “If you believe, all things are possible.”
    Tally ho,
    Laurie

    • Thanks again, Laurie.
      About the “If you believe, all things are possible.”
      I never really understood that. Now, when I hear that, I hear:
      “If you act as if all things are possible, all things are possible.”
      I’ve believed for a long time. But once I started acting on that belief, good things started happening.
      It’s a little unnerving now to see how much and how fast!

Leave a Reply

