Learning To Be Flexible

So much of the past year and a half has been saturated with change.

A major crisis with son number one brought my focus to Romantic Shorts and finally funneling some serious energy into a productive and worthwhile venture.

But that direction has been plagued with the most ridiculously obscure distractions. I expected challenges; I would be too much of an idealist to think otherwise. But the challenges that I expected to stop me in my tracks were the related problems: things that actually had something to do with what I was working on.

And I wasn’t disappointed. Learning the lessons of website design, online marketing, social networking, e- and digital publishing, advertising, and branding had me spraining tired old brain cells on a regular basis. But never – surprisingly! – did these things stop me. I’ve been pushing through and succeeding where I never thought possible. My self-confidence is soaring, my pride is humbling, and my hope is now unlimited. (The challenge in such emotional satisfaction, however, is in not being able to share these accomplishments with friends and family who feel neither the surprise nor the importance of my feats. This is supposed to be a compliment to me.)

The challenges that have  pestered the most – often not only stopping me in my tracks, but causing a great deal of sidestepping and backpedaling – are the most unexpected, annoying, and frustrating interruptions! (Not that I haven’t benefited greatly from them – I just take issue with the timing…)

A ceiling repair that should have taken two or three days to finish, turned into a three month renovation that had me working in a construction zone, using the dog crate as a desk.

A challenge to my husband to find the perfect house – he goes into search mode every spring, finding many options, but ultimately taking us all through a process we’d all rather avoid – resulted in his proving his resourcefulness to the max. From the day he found the house to closing was three weeks. It took me four months to find my eyeglasses after such a fast and furious packing job!

And as incredible good fortune would have it, we were somehow able to hang on to the old house, keeping it as an investment property. Which had us spending the entire summer – one that should have been spend enjoying our new digs – covered in paint, plaster and dust as we completed an entire home renovation to be able to rent it. (Now, of course thankful for the previously-mentioned ceiling repair that gave us a nice head start!)

All in all, of the last eighteen months developing, planning, and creating Romantic Shorts, eleven have been spent amidst the most  intrusive environments imaginable, against the distraction and stress of hard physical labour, the marital bliss of the renovator, five children who perpetually insist on being fed and attending activities outside of the house – like school and such – and all the while, dreaming about new and inventive ways to pay for the whole mess.

The fact that I’m still here is an accomplishment in and of itself.

But to have come this far with Romantic Shorts intact is astounding!

The biggest lesson I’ve learned from all of this is that Romantic Shorts will succeed. It will become everything I’ve always dreamed it could be.

The catch is that it won’t likely happen according to my timeline.

Give and get, I guess.

I’ll take it.

Dream Big!
Alex.

2 Comments

Filed under For Writers, Just a Thought

2 responses to “Learning To Be Flexible

  1. Our dreams do come true and they almost always never come in our timing. Big dreams, big challenges! Anytime you decide to do something that is much larger than you are, something that will live past your own life time, challenges come at you. It is learning how to juggle all of these things, learning how to duck when necessary and to stand up and be counted when you must, which gives us that assurance, that something great is happening. We may not see it but it is taking place. What we need is the courage and dedication to keep going, to keep walking that path until the dream unfolds and it will. Right at the moment when we least expect it, the dream become a living, breathing reality. Have a great day, Alex.
    Shalom.

    • Thanks again for your kind support, Patricia.
      Based on your philosophy – with which I do happen to agree – and given the challenges so far, Romantic Shorts is going to be HUGE!! 😀

      Can’t hardly wait!
      Alex.

Leave a Reply

