Plans For 2012 – You’re Invited!

Happy New Year!!

Oh, so much up and coming in 2012…

We’re currently reworking our writer contracting process. E-mailing and mailing signed contract back and forth all over the world just isn’t working for us… With one or two writers, it’s do-able. But getting up into dozens and we’re tripping over paperwork everywhere. This is supposed to all be paperless…

So, we’re writing the content to be able to accept submissions online with an agreement to Terms and Conditions required to enable the submit to work. Oh, so obvious. But once again, the learning curve is flexing its solid steel muscle…

As well, we’ve got plenty of new stories coming up. Very exciting. The quality and variation in plot, setting, and character is so enthralling. I had hoped. But this is exceeding expectations.

I am also very excited to be putting together a presentation by author Reid Lance Rosenthal. I read the first book of his An American Saga, entitled Threads West and can’t wait for the next in the series, Maps of Fate, due out this March/April*. I asked Reid to write a guest post for Romantic Shorts and was stunned by what I got back.

He had asked me what I would like him to write about. I simply left him with, “How about writing romance from a man’s point of view?”

He said, “Sure thing,” and went to work…

The result is not what I had expected to present to Romantic Shorts writers as inspiration and support. Though it certainly qualifies as such.

What he gave me is probably one of the most romantic pieces of writing I’ve ever read. While Reid is explaining the components and styles of romance – what constitutes romance, and how would one go about writing one’s thoughts down, I was reading something every woman wants to hear. Something every man should know. And something that was as moving and emotional as it was educational and supportive. Got to admit, I came away from this ‘lesson in romance writing’ more than a little flushed.

And so I decided to use it as a Romantic Short instead of an HQ post. You’re gonna love it!

Watch for it here and at Romantic Shorts’ Reading Room at the beginning of March/April*, to coincide with the release of Maps of Fate.

And that pretty much takes care of January.

I am so looking forward to the next year of growth and adventure with Romantic Shorts!

Feel free to join us – and bring some friends!

Alex.

(January 13th, 2012 – I’ve just heard from Reid and learned that what I originally thought to be a February 2012 release date for Maps of Fate, has now been pushed back a bit to late March/early April. Ah well. Naught to do but wait. But there’s nothing that says I have to wait patiently…)

2 Comments

Filed under For Readers, For Writers, What's New @ R.S.

2 responses to “Plans For 2012 – You’re Invited!

  1. Good Morning Alex,
    Thanks for the update. It is nice to see you are taking your challenges one step at a time. It is going to be a great year and I wish you the best. I also looked at the website for Reid Lance Rosenthal and found it very interesting. I will definitely take the time and read one of his books.
    Have a great week and an excellent start in the New Year.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

    • And a Happy New Year and best wishes to you as well, Patricia.
      Looking forward to publishing your

        On A Rainy Day

      .
      And I really appreciate your kind words and support. Some of the best inspirational quotes I’ve ever heard came from Vince Lombardi. Great choice!
      Alex.

Leave a Reply

