A Quiet Return To Real Life

If I had a cottage that I had barely visited in the last three years, knowing it needed some attention, but unable to get there, I would certainly expect to arrive this week and find one heck of a disaster. Happily, not a total loss. The building was, and is still, in great shape. The grounds have gotten away with a fair bit of wanton behaviour. And it seems a critter has managed to gain entrance and make a little mischief. All in all though, it could be worse.
 
But the most difficult part of returning is finding that the municipality has repaved, rerouted, or removed all of the roads in and out of the property. At first glance, I can’t get there from here. I may have to swap out my car for a horse…
 
And so it is, with Romantic Shorts. While my neglect has spared me my worst fears, it seems it’s going to take a considerable effort on my part to find my way around again, reconnect with the neighbours, and feel like I belong once more.
 
Now, with no grandiose pomp and circumstance surrounding my return to public life, and with new digs completed and oh-so-perfectly-appointed *smile and a heavy sigh of satisfaction,* I am back to work, quietly plugging away at emails, submissions, and website revision.
 
The door is open for manuscript submissions. Although, until the actual submission page is repaired – that’s the door the raccoon broke through – manuscripts can be submitted by email attachment to submissions@romanticshorts.com
One of the plugins I have on the website is a silly fun thing that quotes a different line from ‘Hello Dolly’ every time I open the admin page. Today, I was greeted with, “It’s so nice to have you back where you belong…”
Likewise, Romantic Shorts. Likewise.
3 Comments

Filed under For Readers, For Writers, What's New @ R.S.

3 responses to “A Quiet Return To Real Life

  1. Hello Alex and Happy New Year!
    It is good to see you back. May you have a prosperous year and I pray that every challenge that you meet you overcome and stand out like the true champion that you are.

    Take care and I look forward to working with you again.

    Shalom,
    Patricia

    • Happy New Year to you as well, Pat! Thank you so much for your kind wishes – such a warm welcome! I do hope 2016 finds you well and happy and following your dreams – it’s so good to hear from you!
      Alex.

  2. Reblogged this on Book Reviews by Pat Garcia and commented:
    Hello Everyone,
    To all of you writers who write in the Romance genre, Romantic Shorts, an online publication is now accepting submissions.

    Shalom,
    Pat Garcia

Leave a Reply

