Submissions Status Update

Effective February 2017, Romantic Shorts will be closed for submission of new manuscripts.

Which isn’t to say we’re closed.

There is a slight backlog of manuscripts to consider – and, wishing I had a magic wand to convince writers to fully read and understand submission guidelines would make this task a LOT easier. Of every 100 manuscripts I read, 80 don’t fit our house: they’re just not romances. Another 15 are unreadable: please please please take a grammar course, if not have your story professionally edited! And of the remaining 5, sometimes one is a good one.

I suppose I should take the tack that most publishers do: throw them out and reply with a form response.

But the writer in me just can’t do that. If there’s any speck of light at all in the writing or the story, I’ll do my best to encourage, guide, and coach writers who have placed their hard work, effort, and heart in my trust. And that takes a lot of time.

But there’s also the crap #$@* that sees the site having been hacked. Again. (Though that is still a little flattering…)

And then there’s the opportunity that’s come up for me personally/professionally. I can’t pass that up right now.

And finally, the possibility (though ever so minuscule it may be) that something amazing may be on the horizon for RS.

So, for now, I’m not accepting new manuscript submissions. I will get to the ones on file as soon as humanly possible. And I will update here in July.

Have a wonderful Spring, everyone! And write on!!!

Alex.

Leave a comment

Filed under For Writers

Leave a Reply

